Opened 9 years ago

Last modified 3 years ago

#536 new Bug / Defect

"There are no TAP-Windows adapters on this system" after installing Windows 10 build 10049

Reported by: chrisschrimsher Owned by: jamesyonan
Priority: major Milestone:
Component: tap-windows6 Version: OpenVPN 2.3.6 (Community Ed)
Severity: Not set (select this one, unless your'e a OpenVPN developer) Keywords: windows
Cc:

Description

Hi there,

This is my first time reporting a "bug" in OpenVPN, and I suspect it may have more to do with a change Microsoft made in Windows, so please forgive me if this post is not appropriate or if there's a better means to report it. OpenVPN is a HUGE help for me and I just want to help in return!

OpenVPN has been working fine on Windows 10 Technical Preview until I upgraded to build 10049 this morning. After upgrading to this build, OpenVPN would not connect, log file tail below:

Tue Mar 31 11:45:48 2015 MANAGEMENT: Client disconnected
Tue Mar 31 11:45:48 2015 There are no TAP-Windows adapters on this system.  You should be able to create a TAP-Windows adapter by going to Start -> All Programs -> TAP-Windows -> Utilities -> Add a new TAP-Windows virtual ethernet adapter.
Tue Mar 31 11:45:48 2015 Exiting due to fatal error

I ran the batch files to delete / reinstall the TAP adapters, reinstalled OpenVPN, even modified my config file to use dev-tun to locate the TAP adapter by name, but no dice.

Using ProcMon? to compare to a known working system (Windows 8.1, if that matters), I noticed that as openvpn.exe was enumerating network adapters in

HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Class\{4d36e972-e325-11ce-bfc1-08002be10318}